The Mud Connector
Please check out Legacy MUCK !

TMC Player Reviews: New Worlds


Review Submitted By: wdua
Author Status: Player
Started on New Worlds: Over a year ago
Submission Date: Apr 12, 2013
TMC Listing: New Worlds

The following review is the opinion of the review's author [wdua] and in no way represents the opinions of this website or its staff.

New Worlds Ateraan is one of my first addictions and, to be fair,
it's not a bad game. In some respects.

First of all, while the world isn't terribly big, it's well done
and intricate, with a good number of not-so-easy to find or figure out
places and quests (though occasionally one has to spend some time
syntax guessing). Very enjoyable. There's quite a lot of exploration
to do.

Next, the lore has some potential. It's cliche in many ways - we
have elves, dwarves and cat people, just like in
almost-every-other-mud-you've-ever-played. We have a religion of
light, darkness and a neutral one. We have two major city states, one
civilized and the other more barbaric. Not brimming with originality,
for sure. But once you get into it, it's not bad - it provides a
solid base for some interesting roleplay.

Now, the sad thing is that this base isn't used as it could be.
While there are players who admirably attempt to squeeze out a lot out
of the faith tenets or whatever little lore we have for various
places, races and so on - the staff seems to have no interest in
running plots, explaining unexplained things, moving it all somewhere.
The world is mostly static, with maybe a major event taking place
twice a year or so.

Well, to be completely fair, events happen a little more often than
that. But they are usually invasions, which basically mean spawning
mobs inside a town for mindless entertainment. Oh, and those can be
very random mobs that have you wonder - 'Why the hell would this and
that person come all the way here and attack our city?' Don't hold
your breath, no one's going to explain anything. Who needs plot and
consistency, anyway?

This wouldn't be that terrible if there wasn't another issue. PvP
is a part of this game, of course, and so players often try to stir
some conflict themselves. Not surprising - conflict is the essence of
interesting RP. But! Guess what happens when the quarrel gets a little
bigger than some random players throwing insults around and going
after each others' heads? Most likely, you're about to see an
important staff-controlled NPC pop up, tell his guild/religion/city to
stop and... That's that. No more conflict.

There are more ways in which the staff stifles player RP. Staffers
are allowed to have PCs, even though - let's face it - just about
every player knows who they are. Those 'staff PCs' can also do
whatever they please. They freely PK players, take important positions
that are meant to be player positions and whatnot. Of course, they are
of higher level than almost any player. And so, if you happen to kill
a PC who happens to be on good terms with a 'staff PC', you are
quite likely to be slain by that staff PC with its unfairly higher
level. Hell, I know of an incident where an imm's char took revenge
on someone without even having the IC knowledge to back his reasons
up.

In good RPE MUDs staff-controlled characters are NPCs meant to create
RP opportunities, be parts of plotlines, make the world more
interesting. In NWA, they are there to flaunt might and make people
behind them feel better about themselves.

I feel like this review is getting too vile. Time to stop. Going back
to the good points, NWA provides a good deal of entertainment -
learning guild powers, adventuring, generally figuring things out is
interesting. It's just that once you get past that, you figure out
there's not much more to do and slowly learn of the less pleasant
side of the game. A nice MUD to spend some time on, but not worthy of
getting really into.

Submit Comments About this Review


Comment Submitted By: Staff at Ateraan
Author Status: Staff member
Started on New Worlds: 10 years ago.
Submission Date: Apr 14, 2013

(The following review comment is the opinion of the comment's author [Staff at Ateraan] and in no way represents the opinions of this website or its staff).

I will keep this short and to the point. I'm guessing that this reviewer either never got involved in the numerous plot lines and events in the game or is one of those players that must be hand held through everything.

Seriously, they say they have played the game for a year, but that is impossible when they say there are only 2 events a year. NWA has had over 2 events per week for the last year and 6 months ago there was an event nearly every day for a month.

Furthermore, invasions on this game are very story plot driven. They are not random and the invaders are AI driven. I've played over 50 MUDs in the last 10 years and have never seen anything close to the dynamic driven invasions that happen on this game.

Could there be more? Of course. There always can be more, but I challenge this reviewer to pop in and send staff a mail message on what game they have now found with more depth and breadth and roleplay that NWA has.

Comment Submitted By: Marcavus
Author Status: Player
Started on New Worlds: 2009, I forget.
Submission Date: Apr 18, 2013

(The following review comment is the opinion of the comment's author [Marcavus] and in no way represents the opinions of this website or its staff).

A significant portion of this review was very correct, despite what
the unnamed staff member replied. I fulfilled many roles and was
incredibly involved when I played on New Worlds, including becoming
one of the northern city's guildmasters. You don't need to get hyper
involved on New Worlds to realize that the depth and breadth of the
roleplay is incredibly lacking and the hamfisted way the staff
interacts with its players carries a large share of the blame. There
is no real reward for creating and resolving your own plotlines
without them getting involved.

The invasions themselves were just the imms shouting on one of the
storyline characters that they were mad and sending tons of mobs into
the northern city and killing people repeatedly. At one point, there
was a diplomatic meeting between the two cities when they were on the
verge of war and the staff's idea of getting involved was to just drop
a meteor on it and kill everyone there. Another time, there was a
prism that ended up just killing everyone currently online. There's
a recurring theme here. There is nothing really dynamic about the
invasions whatsoever, and I've seen other MUDs do large scale events
far better than New Worlds has ever done.

I highly recommend that the reviewer does not out themself to the
staff if they intend to continue playing the game. I personally have
been retaliated against on multiple occasions for disagreeing with
them, a large part of why I no longer play there.

Comment Submitted By: Lookin
Author Status: Player
Started on New Worlds: Sporadic - ex-player
Submission Date: Nov 13, 2013

(The following review comment is the opinion of the comment's author [Lookin] and in no way represents the opinions of this website or its staff).

I could not agree more with this review. Everything that has been
said, aside from the reply from the staff, is pure fact. Refer to my
review that was written back in 2009. I see that -nothing- has changed
since my own experience.

There are also other reviews on different sites that are quite
similar to these, reviews that the mud's administration could not
delete from their own forums. If this many people are complaining
about the same exact things, chances are that the people complaining
are not wrong.

Comment Submitted By: Former Player
Author Status: Player
Started on New Worlds: 2010
Submission Date: Nov 11, 2013

(The following review comment is the opinion of the comment's author [Former Player] and in no way represents the opinions of this website or its staff).

Just wanted to back up what Marcavus and the reviewer said. I
happened to have played around the same time Marcavus did and
witnessed his leading of the Mage Guild.

NWA is a very shallow mud that seems to think itself endlessly
fascinating because Andrew, the owner and only person coding (who by
the way is a totally inappropriate OOC sleeze to some of the female
characters) likes to artificially crank up the difficulty on some
things. Just for a vaguely recent example, non-staff characters are
progressing too quickly for his liking? AKA outleveling staff
characters, which are boosted to their levels by the admin accounts,
not actually played. Time to gut the way everyone makes money with
crab traps by making them difficult to store.

Don't waste your time with this mud. Seriously, some of the highest
level characters have reported that their newly accessed powers don't
even work -- because they haven't been coded yet. How? This mud has
been around for AGES and seen little content other than a pay-to-win
method added.

The only reason to stick around is the players -- they're a
dedicated bunch, trying against all odds to impart some meaning and
sense into a bland world ruled by an aloof and erratic dictator. The
work they do is astonishing, and for an ex-player, bewildering. NWA
does not deserve its players.

Comment Submitted By: FB Hawk Hill
Author Status: Player
Started on New Worlds: 2015
Submission Date: Nov 12, 2017

(The following review comment is the opinion of the comment's author [FB Hawk Hill] and in no way represents the opinions of this website or its staff).

Yeah, don't listen to the staffer, who's lying through his teeth. The reviewer and a lot of other
reviewers are right, this game survives despite the “Cook” Andrew, not because of him.

Take some of what this game claims to be about. It claims to be PK-light, but that’s not true.
Since staff doesn’t bother with outside plots, they set their superpowerful GNPCs and the
national NPC dictators to pit religions, nations and factions against one another. It’s a lot less
work to get the playerbase into PvP than to use NPC bad guys.

It claims to have over 100+ players logged in at any one time, but that’s not true. There’s
mechanical advantage to leaving characters permanently logged in, so a lot fewer people are
actively playing than it looks. It’s also easy to have multiple characters, and while players are
restricted to having only two, that’s only enforced when staff wants to bust your chops, I know
two people with FIVE characters and I bet there’s more. I doubt there are more than a couple
dozen active players at any given time.

Something staff crows about these days is having politics, but that’s not true either. The northern
city set up a “Council” of guildmasters, and staff took it right over, appointing a head that’s never
there, dictating who sits on it, and ignoring its decisions and judgments. The guildmasters have
stopped bothering.

The court system? Staff took that over too and decisions are crazy, a recent major trial forced the
victim (who was basically a city cop ON DUTY) to pay off his murderer, bad enough so that two
cops resigned on the spot and the city’s on its third “head marshal” in four months.

There are a lot of bugs and unimplemented powers and things, and staff’s answer is “we’re
working on new areas.” But that was their excuse last year and the year before that and the year
before that, and there haven’t been any new areas. Now Andrww sucks at coding (merchant-
made items can’t have apostrophes or hyphens or it’s claimed that it’ll break the system) but a lot
of players who are good coders have volunteered to help, in vain. He doesn’t want to fix things
but doesn’t want anyone else to either.

A lot of good players have left for other games and I just did myself.