The Mud Connector
Please check out KoBraMUD !

TMC Player Reviews: God Wars II


Review Submitted By: Mud Girl
Author Status: Player
Started on God Wars II: 1 month ago
Submission Date: Feb 25, 2011
TMC Listing: God Wars II

The following review is the opinion of the review's author [Mud Girl] and in no way represents the opinions of this website or its staff.

I only played this mud for one month, but it is a month of my life I
wish I had back. It was not very long after starting that I was
shocked by this awful mud and its tiny playerbase.

One player in particular named Fraust, was constantly spewing racist,
sexist, homophobic nonsense that I found highly offensive. Another
player named Freakazoid has ruined the war minigame by entering 10
characters at a time.

The administration is either powerless to stop this kind of behavior,
doesn't care, or possibly encourages it. Don't bother with this
game.

Submit Comments About this Review


Comment Submitted By: Fraust
Author Status: Player
Started on God Wars II: March 10th 2006
Submission Date: Mar 10, 2011

(The following review comment is the opinion of the comment's author [Fraust] and in no way represents the opinions of this website or its staff).

'Please supply as much factual information as possible to support
the position of your comments, in response to the specified review.'

Of course =)

1.'its tiny playerbase.'

Typing 'who' in game will bring up the current list of connected
players and player statistics. At this time it displays this:

'There are currently 17 players connected, with a peak of 46 this
up time.
Average number of players is 20.55, over 1599 hours, 4 minutes and 7
seconds.'

An average 20 players isn't tiny. I have played several other muds
that average about 3 over a month or so. 20 is *not* tiny, unless
you play one of the relatively few muds with 60-80 players a day.


'One player in particular named Fraust, was constantly spewing racist,
sexist, homophobic nonsense that I found highly offensive.'

This game is not roleplay enforced nor are there any rules. I'm sorry
my choice of dialogue isn't suitable to your tastes; If you take the
time to read the description of God Wars II it says very clearly
that it contains Adult-oriented violence.

If a little foul language upsets you, I'm not sure you would like the
messages you get when disemboweling an opponent. In the future you
may want to be more cautious in choosing what games to try instead
of calling any offensive game 'awful'

'Freakazoid has ruined the war minigame by entering 10
characters at a time.'

He has not ruined the war minigame. If you take the time to play war
a few times you would see you have just as much chance to succeed in
war with 20 opponents as with 2, especially considering the lords of
war have more targets to choose from.


'The administration is either powerless to stop this kind of behavior,
doesn't care, or possibly encourages it. Don't bother with this
game.'

That is an unfair opinion, considering you played only a month and
didn't make any effort to contact the administration about these
problems to see if there was any reason this was not addressed.




Comment Submitted By: MUDMan
Author Status: Player
Started on God Wars II: 2.5 years ago
Submission Date: Jun 14, 2011

(The following review comment is the opinion of the comment's author [MUDMan] and in no way represents the opinions of this website or its staff).

I have to agree with most of your points, Mud Girl, but I am more
concerned about the ease with which people can avoid PK in this
supposed PK game. It is rather annoying.
It is far too easy for people to teleport away from combat,
or to abuse safe mode by killing themselves with an alternate
character, or to hide within safe task areas. As such, there can
often be little to do for a maximum-aged character.

Comment Submitted By: Xakarii
Author Status: Player
Started on God Wars II: Auguest, 2005
Submission Date: Jan 26, 2012

(The following review comment is the opinion of the comment's author [Xakarii] and in no way represents the opinions of this website or its staff).

As far as I can tell from this post, the problem is thus: 'Fraust is SOOOO obnoxious and I'm so easily baited by trolling
that I can't focus on reading help files long enough to seek out the holy grail of commands on God Wars II : 'ignore fraust'.
'I have to agree with most of your points, Mud Girl, but I am more concerned about the ease with which people can avoid PK
in this supposed PK game. It is rather annoying. It is far too easy for people to teleport away from combat, or to abuse safe
mode by killing themselves with an alternate character, or to hide within safe task areas. As such, there can often be little
to do for a maximum-aged character.' -MUDgirlMAN

We've been over this so many times already in so many threads. Teleport is not going to save you from someone that
knows how to use a two letter command 're' for right elbow (which clears hand queues by the way), or someone who has a
net, or can cut off your hands, or cast dimensional anchor, or kill you before you finish casting, OR an adept hunter
that has familiarised him/herself with your teleport habits and can guess approximately what distance you might have
tried to flee (provided they note the direction of the pointing wand before you disappear). The last one is how we
did it back in 2005 before people considered flight from combat an illegitimate technique. As for abusing safe
mode by killing an alternate character: this is not an advantage. At best it's neutral considering safe mode
prevents you from participating in pk as well, disallowing any bonus you -could- gain in exchange for respite from
player-fights. Not to mention any significant amount of safe mode time would require you to call down the wrath
of the paradox spirit on your older character. Hiding in task areas is the same issue. No one is 'Hiding' there.
Your location is displayed on the who list in task areas. If you consistently return to an area, people will
start to notice the trend and begin to guess where to look for you.

This is basic player hunting stuff but it seems like some players just don't have the patience for tracking,
ambushing, chasing that might be involved when a fellow player doesn't feel like getting his face ripped off.

Comment Submitted By: Anonymous
Author Status: Player
Started on God Wars II: 6 years ago
Submission Date: Apr 30, 2012

(The following review comment is the opinion of the comment's author [Anonymous] and in no way represents the opinions of this website or its staff).

Besides the fact that this game has pretty much stopped being
developed, the thing that bothers me most about this game is the
favoritism. Its just plain sickening. Only the suggestion of a
couple players are considered, and the administrators only seem to
make changes to benefit their select group of friends so they can
win the game.